Quick Start Guide to Nevada Homeschooling
The intent of this guide is to give you an abbreviated overview of the laws and regulations that you are legally responsible to navigate if you intend to homeschool your child in Nevada in accordance with NRS 388D.010-.070 (new NRS numbering effective June, 2016).
Please read through the NHN detailed guide to Nevada homeschooling laws. It is important to know and understand your rights. Click here for more detailed instructions on filing the NOI to Homeschool and if you’re totally new to homeschooling review our New Homeschoolers page. If you have questions after reading these pages, please contact NHN and we will do our best to help.
Step 1: Understand the basics about taking full responsibility for the education of your child.
- What “Homeschooling” means in Nevada (independent, private, self-funded education provided to a child that is parent-directed).
- Understand the other Nevada Parental Choice Options.2019.June that are available to you.
- The differences between Government funded “school choice” and privately funded options are also explained in this pictograph, Education Options in NV.
- NOTE: Nevada ESA and Opt-in child laws were REPEALED June, 2019. In Nevada there are once again only three ways to meet the compulsory attendance law; public, private or home school (NRS392.040, NRS 392.070).
- And lastly, this article – NEVADA HOMESCHOOL LAW – An Overview – explains what you need to know with links to all the facts.
Step 2: Determine what County/school district you reside in. School districts in Nevada are run by the various counties.
- NOTE: If your child is enrolled in a NV public or charter school prior to homeschooling you MUST officially withdraw your child from the public or charter school.
- Contact the school’s principal to do so.
- You have 10 days after withdrawing your child to submit the NOI to Homeschool to the Superintendent.
- Parents of 5 and 6 year old children enrolled in a public/charter school MUST file a NOI to Homeschool within 10 days of officially withdrawing from public/charter school (the age 7 requirement does not apply in your situation).
Step 3: Fill out the one-page NHN (or other) Notification of Intent form.
Step 4: Compose your Education Plan of Instruction in conformance with NRS 388D.050.
Step 5: Mail your NOI and the Education Plan to the superintendent/school district (see step 2) using “certified mail” and a “return receipt” request from the post office (the return receipt is a green two-sided card) to prove you’ve mailed the NOI just in case “it gets lost in the mail” which has been known to happen. MAILING the NOI in Certified Mail is for YOUR protection! You have 10 days after withdrawing your child from public school or 30 days after moving to Nevada (or if names/addresses change in NV) to file your NOI.
Step 6: You should receive a written acknowledgement from your school district in a week or two. Keep the receipt on file. IF YOU DON’T RECEIVE AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT LETTER – CALL the school district and demand it… you never know under what circumstances you’ll need it in the future.
Nothing else is required of you from the state. You do not need to refile your NOI unless you move anywhere in the state (even in the same school district) or change your name.
For legal protection of your homeschool, NHN recommends parents join HSLDA – Benefits of Membership.